becoming less: a series

In my life, at least since Junior High, I’ve shared a common struggle with women everywhere: being overweight.

After spending the better part of my twenties {up to this point} yo-yo dieting, I’ve finally gotten to a place where, not only have I had success, but I know, without a shadow of a doubt that I’m never going back.

First: My Story.

Around Easter time of 2010, we went over to my Grandmother’s house as usual, and my cousin Holly was taking pictures of everyone. During the photo-snapping, she captured this shot of me:

This picture changed my life.

I was horrified that I had allowed myself to get to this weight. I knew how much I weighed, and the number was definitely scary {191 pounds, in case you were wondering. And even for a 5’10” woman, that’s TOO BIG}, but actually seeing myself really shocked me.

From that moment on, I began a weight loss journey that has re-shaped how I feel about food and what I put into my body and in what quantity.

I want to share what I’ve learned with you. So that you can be successful too.

You should know this about me: I am not a nutritionist. In fact, I will make “nutritionists” ill with what I’m going to share with you – because we subscribe to very different philosophies. Also, I’m not a stick-figure. As of this morning, I weigh 166.5 pounds {which is still 1.5 pounds away from my pre-baby weight and at least 15 pounds away from where I’d really like to be} and I wear a size 8.

But I am a success story. And that’s because I know the secrets to succesful weight loss.

And it’s not about carbs. Or points. Or non-fat/low-fat. Or starving yourself.

What is it about?

Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

