grunge

{sweaterdress – tulle, cardigan – AEO, jeans – Gap, shoes – Target, lipstick}

When I was in Junior High in the late nineties, super-wide-leg jeans were the it-thing to own if you were into the greasy grunge movement, which for some reason, I was. And I mean wide legs. I think you could fit 10 people in the legs of my jeans, no kidding {ok, well, maybe a little kidding}. Unfortunately for you, I don’t have pictures of that time in my life, but when I slipped on these trouser jeans for the first time, it brought me back to those days. Granted, these are not nearly as wide and they’re much more sleek and grown-up looking, but the idea is still sort of the same; jeans so wide they cover my shoes. Maybe one day, I’ll look back at this picture and think, “Oh silly Laura! What wide-leg jeans you were wearing – you’re much more fashionable now.” Which is what I think now of myself then. I guess fashion is like that. And if nothing else, my kids will get a kick out of me when they look at this picture in 20 years.

{I linked up to What I Wore Wednesday over at The Pleated Poppy}

pleated poppy

4 Responses to “grunge”


  1. 1 Britney January 25, 2012 at 2:00 pm

    Love trouser jeans! & that scarf!!

  2. 2 fancythis January 25, 2012 at 2:35 pm

    me too! they’re so flattering on me – especially since i carry weight in my tummy and have ZERO hips – they make it look like i have them which makes my tummy look smaller! score!

  3. 3 lifelemons January 25, 2012 at 7:52 pm

    Ah, big jeans. Your jeans are much cooler than the ones we used to wear.

    I wore wide leg dress pants today at work and cussed them everytime they got caught under the wheel of my chair.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 33 other followers


bloglovin

follow me

grab a button! spread the word!

what’s goin on?

looking back

Credits


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

